
 

 

 

 

 

State of California 

California Information Security Office 

Privacy Individual Access 
Standard  

SIMM 5310-B 

September 2013 

 

 

 



 

California Information Security Office   
Privacy Individual Access Standard  
SIMM 5310-B  September 2013 

REVISION HISTORY 

REVISION DATE OF RELEASE OWNER SUMMARY OF 
CHANGES 

Initial Release September 2013 California 
Information Security 
Office 

New Standard 

 



 

California Information Security Office   
Privacy Individual Access Standard  
SIMM 5310-B  September 2013 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

 
 

 

INTRODUCTION ............................................................................................................. 1 

INDIVIDUAL REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION ............................................................ 1 

Response to Requests for Information .................................................................... 1 

Time Frame for Response ......................................................................................... 1 

INDIVIDUAL REQUESTS FOR ACCESS TO RECORDS .............................................. 1 

Time Limits ................................................................................................................. 1 

Access Denial ............................................................................................................. 1 

Permitting Other Individuals Access ....................................................................... 2 

INFORMATION RELATING TO OTHER INDIVIDUALS ................................................ 2 

 

 
 
 



 

California Information Security Office  1 
Privacy Individual Access Standard  
SIMM 5310-B  September 2013 

INTRODUCTION 

This standard provides requirements to information asset custodians and state entity personnel 
on the parameters under which individuals shall be provided access to personal information that 
has been collected by agencies. 

INDIVIDUAL REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION 

Response to Requests for Information 

If an individual requests information as to whether or not a state entity maintains a record of 
personal information about that individual, the state entity shall include in the response, at least 
the following: 

1. The state entity’s Privacy Policy Statement 

2. The state entity’s relevant Privacy Notice on Collection 

Both of these documents shall meet or exceed the requirements contained in the Privacy 
Statement and Notices Standard (SIMM 5310-A). 

Time Frame for Response 

The trustee shall inform the individual requesting information of the timeframe in which they can 
expect a response from the state entity. The state entity shall respond to requests for 
information within 30 days. 

INDIVIDUAL REQUESTS FOR ACCESS TO RECORDS 

Time Limits 

Upon request and proper identification, individuals shall be provided access to his or her record 
within 30 days of the state entity's receipt of the request if the record is active, and within  
60 days of the state entity's receipt of the request for records that are in multiple locations, or 
which are inactive and in central storage. All access requests pertaining to records containing 
personal information are subject to limitations as described in the Information Practices Act of 
1977 as well as the SAM section 5365, Privacy Policy. 

Access Denial 

If a state entity denies an individual access to his or her records of personal information, the 
individual shall be provided with an explanation of the reason for denial. The individual shall be 
informed of the state entity’s method of recourse if the individual disputes the decision to deny 
access, including an explanation of the right to bring a civil action, as per Civil Code section 
1798.45.   
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Permitting Other Individuals Access 

Upon request, an individual may appoint an agent of his or her choosing to access any or all 
records of personal information and to have an exact copy made of all or any portion of the 
record within 15 days of the inspection. A state entity may require the individual to provide a 
written statement authorizing disclosure of the individual's record to the agent. 

INFORMATION RELATING TO OTHER INDIVIDUALS 

In disclosing personal information contained in a record to one individual, no personal 
information relating to another second individual shall be contained in the record. To comply 
with this section, all personal information concerning the second individual shall be deleted from 
the copy provided to the first, or otherwise removed from the disclosure.  

 
 


